About Us

Our Region

The area defined as the northern region of Tasmania covers 25,200 square kilometres and is bounded by some of Tasmania’s most outstanding and picturesque landscapes. From Bass Strait, along the craggy peaks of the Western Tiers to the head waters of the Macquarie River, across to the stunning beaches of the Bay of Fires and the unspoilt islands of the Furneaux and Kent Groups.

More than 143,000 people live in the region, with the major urban areas based around Launceston and the Tamar Valley. The valley is dissected by the iconic Tamar River or kanamaluka, Australia’s longest navigable estuary at 70km carrying the combined flows from over 15,000km2 including the waters from the North Esk, South Esk, Meander and Macquarie Rivers.

The many smaller towns that service the rural and coastal communities include numerous historic colonial villages and coastal settlements. The region is governed by the eight municipal councils of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Launceston, Meander Valley, Northern Midlands, West Tamar, and Flinders (covering the Eastern Bass Strait islands).

Much of the region’s wealth is derived from industries such as agriculture, viticulture, forestry, tourism, fishing, aquaculture, and recreation – all of which depend on our natural resources. Regional agriculture alone generates $468m annually, while 66% of Tasmania’s wine is produced within the NRM North jurisdiction.

We are fortunate to have such a large number of people eager to improve their natural resource assets, whether that be individually or through community groups.


0.0543 s - Server Process Time

cache - Request Source

6 - Page ID